IMO Team Philippines brought home another Silver medal since 2010 in the recently concluded International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) 2014 held on July 3-13, 2014 in Cape Town, South Africa.  This is the 3rd Silver Medal for the Philippines since 1989.  Silver is the highest award ever won by the country.  The IMO Gold Medal still remains elusive to this date.

The bronze medalists are Farrell Eldrian S. Wu, Kyle Patrick F. Dulay and Matthew Ryan S. Tan. Honourable mentions are Clyde Wesley S. Ang and Ma. Czarina Angela S. Lao.

The IMO Team Philippines is composed of finalists and winners to this year’s Philippine Mathematical Olympiad (PMO), namely, Clyde Wesley S. Ang of Chiang Kai Shek College; Kyle Patrick F. Dulay of Philippine Science High School – Main Campus; Ma. Czarina Angela S. Lao, Adrian Reginald C. Sy, and Matthew Ryan S. Tan of St. Jude Catholic School; and Farrell Eldrian S. Wu of MGC New Life Christian Academy.

The Silver Medalists for the Philippines are as follows:

2014:         Adrian Reginald Sy
2010:         Carmela Antoinette Sio Lao
1989:         Jerome Suntay Khohayting

Outstanding Achievements in IMO this year:

  • Another Silver medal after 4 years. The third Silver medal since 1989.
  • The highest Team score since 1988 of 96 points.
  • The highest country rank of 45th since 1992.  There are 101 countries who participated in this year's contest.


IMO 2014 - PH Individual Results

Photocredits: Go for Gold: Philippine IMO Team Facebook page
IMO results:

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!